Discovering Hong Kong: Day 1

Few months ago, I was choosing between Singapore and Hong Kong as my first out-of-the country tour. This trip was actually initiated by my parents since they’ve been wanting to unwind. After listing down pros and cons of each destination, the latter won.

Planning for this trip was really challenging from looking for affordable accommodations to getting to know the places using only an app I downloaded and informations from blogs I found online. It was overwhelming because tons of advices filled my head. I had this fear that this trip will fail so I did everything to make our itinerary organized.

A good suggestion I got from my colleague was to pick a place around MongKok area. I booked a room via AirBnb because rates were a lot cheaper compared to other sites. I was able to get a room for 2,800 ++ a night, no meals included.

We arrived in Hong Kong around 8AM and the first thing I did was to call the host of our accommodation. He met us at Mong Kok bus station. I was a bit disappointed because the room he gave to us was different from what I’ve seen in the online reservation. It was enough to accommodate 3 – 4 person but what frustrated me more is the fact that the room wasn’t tidy. I shrugged it off and just let out a sigh of relief when I learned that it’s near the MTR station. We rested for a few hours before we went to out first tour: The Victoria Peak.

Our host suggested that we buy the octopus card since we will be going around Hong Kong through MTR. It costs HK$150 ( each ) with HK$ 50 as a deposit. So we had HK$100 to spend.

To cut the story short, we paid HK$ for the Tram ride going to Victoria Peak and to see this impressive view.

How to get there:

1.Peak Tram from the Peak Tram Lower Terminus on Garden Road

2. Reach it by taking bus 15C from the lay-by outside the Star Ferry Pier in Central, or walk from MTR Central Station, Exit J2. OR,

3. Bus 15 from Exchange Square bus terminus ( near MTR Hong Kong Station Exit D ) OR

4. Mini bus 1 from MTR Hong Kong Station public transport interchange.

First tourist shot of my parents. ๐Ÿ™‚ย The Peak copy

The Victoria Peak Day 1

The Peak Day 1 jpg

The ride going up was about 20 minutes. At the entrance of The Peak Galleria is a wide array of souvenir shops; where each of these showcases exquisite pieces for you to take home.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Second stop was at the Avenue of Stars. I was right before the sun set when we arrived.

How to get there:

1. MTR East Tsim Sha Tsui Station Exit J. Follow the signs going to the Avenue of Stars.ย Avenue of Stars Day 1

We got lost looking for this place that we were already tired at around 7 in the evening. Oh well, I will just have to visit this place again and watch the famous Symphony of Lights when I come back, I told myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

ย 

ย 

2 thoughts on “Discovering Hong Kong: Day 1

Leave a Reply

